Vows for 2013

Happy New Years!! I really can’t believe that it is 2013…..the holidays have come and gone in the blink of an eye. Like every year, I have said that I hope this is the best year yet but who am I kidding?! The past 3 years have been the best years of my life and I honestly don’t think I will ever have a bad year as long as I am surrounded by the people present in my life today. Everyone always asks what your resolution is for the year. Think about it – people who make resolutions tend to break them. Sure we all want to eat healthy, loose weight, quit smoking, drink less, spend less, save money, travel blah blah blah. We do good for about a month and then give in to temptation or get lost in our every day routine and the resolution we were so eager about January 1 no longer exists. I have decided that instead of a resolution, I am making vows for myself. A solemn promise. A list of solemn promises that I can feel good about. For 2013 I vow to:

~Take more pictures! For those that know me this may seem crazy. Nathan has 5 full albums since his birth (which was only 16 months ago). John calls me paparazzi when I get going with my camera. I have all major holidays, events, and milestones captured. But I want more candid and less posed photos. I want my children to be able to look back on photos and be flooded with memories of the “in between” moments.

~Not sweat the small stuff! This is something my Mommom has always said. Easier said than done for many. I am the first to admit that I let stupid insignificant things really get to me. I wish I had John’s attitude towards life. He lets nothing bother him and if it does he doesn’t show it or dwell on it. Richard Carlson, author of Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff, tells us to ask ourself if it will matter in a year from now. So instead of getting angry or annoyed, I am going to stop and ask myself that exact question. Will this matter a year from now? 

~Take ME time. I may not have a 9-5 job but the job that I do have is 24/7. I wouldn’t change this for the world BUT I am realizing that “mommy” breaks are healthy and needed. I will read a book. Have lunch with friends. Hang out with my sisters. Go shopping with my mom. Take an hour away from the mommy/wife role and re-connect with Amy.

~Make others smile. A friend of mine recently posted an article about doing random acts of kindness that instantly made me smile. Doing something that may seem so simple to you can make anothers day.

~Live lighter and laugh more. Take chances without fear. Focus on being grateful for what I do have. Live with less and appreciate more.  Pray. Nourish my soul ❤

199425089719477636_vRb7SrGN

One thought on “Vows for 2013

Leave a Reply

