It’s amazing what you learn from a child…

Am I really learning more from a one year old than I have my whole life?! Well, maybe not, but it seems that way sometimes. Although I am only a mother of one, it seems that down time is hard to come across. Sure Nathan takes one, maybe two, naps a day but that “down time” is when EVERYTHING else must get done. I often wonder what my life will be like ten years from now when there is more than one child, sports, school, homework, activities and lord knows what else thrown into the mix. Me and the hubby joke now about feeling like we are always on the go but really this is nothing. On occasion, I do get some “me” time that is actually quiet and uninterrupted and I am thankful because it’s then that I get to actually appreciate what I have and what a blessing my little baby toddler is. There are a ton of people that I can thank for helping me become the person I am today. But, the one relationship that I believe has impacted me the most and changed me for the better is the one with my son. I am happy to say that I learned major life lessons from a one year old!! Here is what I have learned:

1. Just when you think you know what love is, a child opens your heart to a whole new level of being in love. My son must hear “I love you” 500 times a day. I honestly cannot imagine my life without him ❤ 

2. It’s okay to occasionally do nothing at all. The dishes and laundry will still be there tomorrow. Life is to short and kids grow to quickly. There is nothing I love more than the smile I get when I am on the floor playing with my son! 

3. Your life is no longer centered around you. Before I had my son, I rarely left the house without makeup . I wouldn’t even dare going to the grocery store without at least mascara on. Now I’m lucky if I can get a shower daily. Don’t judge, I know you have all been there 😉

4. I thought I knew exactly how I would parent my child. I would not have a picky eater, no temper tantrums, he would sleep like an angel, there would be one room for toys. You get the point. I don’t know who I was kidding!! My son is in charge and I’m okay with that – for now at least. I have learned to pick my battles and go with the flow. 

5. You find out who your true and lifelong friends are. Having a kid changes your relationship with everyone, including your friends. Luckily, my small group of friends has remained the same over the past few years and I am happy to say that we are able to support and encourage each other through each stage in our lives. 

6. You learn to enjoy the simple things in life. An airplane in the sky. Blowing bubbles. Dancing around the house. Taking a walk. 

7. My house will never be perfect. There will always be crumbs lingering from an afternoon snack that was shared with the dog. Tiny handprints always seem to find their way to the just cleaned windows, mirrors and doors. Blocks that were just picked up somehow always end up scattered throughout the house. The books on the shelf will never be kept in order by height. 

8. Sometimes you just have to laugh…after all, they do say laughter is the best medicine! 

9. Life is to short not to indulge every once in a while. Just yesterday, my son found a package of cookies right after he woke up. He came running to me with a huge smile across his face to show me the treasure he had found. My first instinct was to take them and put them away. Out of sight, out of mind right?! After seeing the glimmer of hope in his eyes, we sat on the kitchen floor and had a cookie for breakfast 🙂 Sometimes you just have to dig in! 

10. Do not take anything for granted and be happy with the life the God has given you. 

Leave a Reply

