My Grown-up Banana Bread

When I have free time I usually bake. Sometimes it may be a new recipe. Or brownies from a box – who doesn’t like an easy 3 ingredient and bake recipe?! A majority of the time I like to bake using recipes that I have made many times and I know that the end result will be nothing short of delicious. The one thing I can remember baking with my mom as a child is banana bread. Now mind you, the recipe that we used was called Big Bird’s Banana Bread and came from a Sesame Street book, but who’s judging?! To be honest, no other recipe ever compared to Big Bird’s until I came across this recipe . My mom even approves (even though she would be happy with a tastykake) so it’s a keeper 😉 Enjoy~

Ingredients 

~ 3 or 4 ripe bananas, smashed (The riper the better! And I use 4 bananas)

~ 1/3 cup melted butter

~ 1 cup sugar (could be reduced to 3/4 cup)

~ 1 egg, beaten

~ 1 teaspoon vanilla

~ 1 teaspoon baking soda

~ pinch of salt

~ 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

No need for a mixer for this recipe. Preheat the oven to 350°F (175°C). With a wooden spoon, mix butter into the mashed bananas in a large mixing bowl. Mix in the sugar, egg, and vanilla. Sprinkle the baking soda and salt over the mixture and mix in. Add the flour last, mix. Pour mixture into a buttered 4×8 inch loaf pan. Bake for 1 hour. Cool on a rack. Remove from pan and slice to serve.

* I checked mine after about 45 minutes and it was done so different ovens may vary.

Mmm mmm mmm 🙂

Leave a Reply

